Renting or Leasing a Vehicle for University Business
Printed on: . Please go to http://policy.umn.edu for the most current version of the Policy or related document.
Renting or Leasing a University-Owned Vehicle
When renting a vehicle, the traveler or departmental representative:
- Determines the trip is related to University business and has departmental approval.
- Contacts appropriate campus office (see Contacts section in the policy).
Provides required information. Fueling University Vehicles
The University of Minnesota is exempt from federal fuel taxes. To take advantage of this exemption, University vehicles should be fueled at the campus fueling locations whenever possible. While away from campus, drivers should use a Fleet-issued fuel credit card. Use of the University fuel pumps and the fuel credit card are the only two means by which the University receives an exemption from federal fuel taxes.
When fueling a vehicle with the fuel credit card, the driver must select a self-service pump and the lowest octane fuel recommended by the manufacturer.
Mobile Device Use
Drivers are strongly encouraged to refrain from use of mobile devices in a rental or leased vehicle, as outlined in Administrative Policy: Using Vehicles for University Business.
Renting or Leasing 12 and 15 Passenger Vans
Renting or leasing 12- and 15- passenger vans, including from an outside vendor, is prohibited.
Renting or Leasing a non-University Owned Vehicle
Fleet Services is the University's preferred vehicle rental/lease provider. Rental from non-University contracted vendors is strongly discouraged. Using outside vendors increases the initial cost, and may expose the department and the University to a large monetary loss in the event of an accident. Contracts negotiated by the University include lower rates, full insurance coverage and lower insurance deductibles.
Departments may also rent vehicles through contracted vendors. Details on the vendors, how to make reservations and benefits of these contracts are included in the University-Wide Contracts.
Should it become necessary to rent (less than three months) or lease (three months or more) a vehicle from outside the University, the employee or department contracting for the vehicle must first verify insurance protection on the vehicle from the vendor.
- Insurance coverage is not provided by the University insurance policy.
- A certificate of insurance from the rental or lease or leasing firm is required. That certificate requires the following:
- A statement that the insurance on the rented or leased vehicle conforms with Minnesota "no fault" state law.
- On leased vehicles, it should name the Regents of the University as an additional named insured to that firm's automobile liability insurance policy.
Rentals from non-University-contracted vendors require fees for additional insurance coverage. The University must also pay the tax on rental vehicles. Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) should be purchased and is a reimbursable travel expense. If an accident occurs and CDW was not purchased, the deductible for collision expense is $10,000.
The University further requires the leasing or rental firm to provide a minimum limit of liability insurance coverage. These limits of liability must be stated on the certificate of insurance:
- Minimum Insurance for Leased Vehicles
Bodily Injury/Property Damage: $1,000,000 combined Single Limit - Each Occurrence